The pieces your closet needs now

Inside the CFDA Awards 2011 in NYC | The Daily Truffle LA

New York Report: Inside the CFDA Awards 2011 in NYC

2011 CFDA Awards invite

CFDA Awards 2011 invite

There are a few events that guarantee to bring the heavy hitters of an industry together under one roof…you’ve got the Oscars, Tony’s, AMA’s, and the CFDA’s. Celebrating the tenth year of being generously underwritten by Swarovski and it’s second year in Lincoln Center, this evening is surely upping it’s glam antee! Of course you had the obvious attendees: Marc Jacobs, recipient of the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Awawrd (or ‘half lifetime’ as presenter and BFF Sofia Coppola stated), Jack McCollough and Lazaro Henandez of Proenza Schouler, (Accessory and Womenswear Designer nominees), Alexander Wang (Accessory and Womenswear Designer nominee), CFDA President Diane Von Furstenberg, Executive Director Steven Kolb, slews of paps, every editor and fashion writer of note, creme de la creme of the model contingency as well as notable fashion photographers…..

In the celebrity/muse corner you had Kirsten Dunst representing Menswear Designer nominee Patrick Ervell, Jessica Alba in Michael Kors, (she presented InStyle’s Hal Rubenstein the Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert), an emotional Kanye West, presenter of the International Award to Celine’s Phoebe Philo , Liv Tyler in Proenza Schouler, gorgeous Kerry Washington in Calvin Klein with collection designer Francisco Costa.

For guests of such an event seeing certain peeps up close and personal is a favorite cocktail hour past time…!! Sneeking a peek at Anna Wintour with Haider Ackerman(who had no idea he would be attending the show, thus the lament over his shoe choice…), meeting a gracious Olivier Theyskens(loved my shoes and nail lacquer), Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen, Betsy Johnson looking incredibly vibrant for a woman of nearly 70(!!), Grace Coddington (she presented Arthur Elgort his Tribute Award accompanied by his tap dancing son Ansel), the stunning Karolina Kurkova (she presented all the Swarovski awards AND giddily sang a chorus for us as a shout out for the most anticipated sight of the evening…..).

That sight was Fashion Icon recipient Lady Gaga, sporting a green wig,jeweled thong corset ensemble and 12 inch non heel heels….she was funny and seemed truly honored by the accolades. Biggest laugh of the show was her recounting that

Anna Wintour had texted her the news of her award, thinking the message had been from another Anna ( Nicolas Formichetti’s assistant and drinking buddy of Gaga), she replied: “Yes, Bitch, we did it”. Well, she realized something was up when the text back , “How lovely. We will all be waiting to see what you will wear.”

All in all an good start for a long celebration for the winners, nominees and fashion loving folk!

Host: Anderson Cooper
Where: Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center in New York City
Who was there: Kanye West, Naomi Watts, Gerard Butler, Ashley Greene, MK & Ashley Olsen,
Diane von Furstenberg, Johan Lindeberg and Waris Ahluwalia, Andrew Rosen and Olivier Theyskens, Victoria Traina, Anna Wintour, Kirsten Dunst, Amanda Brooks, Atlanta de Cadenet and Chris Benz, Francisco Costa (Calvin Klein), Betsey Johnson, Miranda Kerr, Mickey Drexler and Jenna Lyons (J. Crew), Derek Lam, Daphne Guinness, Georgina Chapman, Karolina Kurkova, Aerin Lauder, Sofia Coppola, Leelee Sobieski, Zac Posen, Liv Tyler, Chloë Sevigny, Karlie Kloss, Marc Jacobs, Phoebe Philo, Jason Wu, Phillip Lim, Lady Gaga and more … 
Womenswear Designer of the Year winner: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler (nominees included Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs)
Menswear Designer of the Year winner: Michael Bastian (nominees included Patrik Ervell and Simon Spurr)
Accessory Designer of the Year winner: Alexander Wang (nominees included Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Reed Krakoff).
Swarovski Award for Womenswear winner: Prabal Gurung (nominees in this category include: Joseph Altuzarra and Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen)
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design winner: Eddie Borgo (nominees included Alejandro Ingelmo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love)
Swarovski Award for Menswear winner: Robert Geller (nominees included Phillip Lim and Robert Geller)
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement (honorary) Award: Marc Jacobs
CFDA Board of Directors Special Tribute: Arthur Elgort
Fashion Icon Award: Lady Gaga
Eugenia Sheppard Media Award: Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph
Eleanor Lambert Founders Award: Hal Rubenstein of InStyle
International Award: Phoebe Philo for Celine.

Aymeline Valade & Alexander Wang

Marc Jacobs and Phoebe Philo

Kirsten Dunst and Sofia Coppola

Pic courtesy of The Standard Hotel, WWD

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.